Property on rent via Calvert group, we've not received either deposit or rent from the Company

2 comments

My parents own a home in Boise, ID and they had put the house for rent via Calvert Group. They owe us $3,750 since the company went bankrupt.

Now my parents live in Seattle, WA and in order to serve the surmons the court is saying that they need a physical address and not an PO Box to serve the summons. There is no physical address of the company do not how to get the money back. And $3,750 is not a small amount.

Any advice from anyone.

Has anyone tried to serve the summons or have a physical address where we can serve the summons? Has anyone got any information?

Monetary Loss: $3750.

Company wrote 0 public responses to the review from Oct 09, 2013.

Comments

Anonymous
#727184

If they declared bankruptcy, the Federal Court would have a record you can look up on the internet (maybe, with the shutdown). Likewise, you will probably get nothing from the bankruptcy.

Anonymous
to pulltype #1413043

They did file bankruptcy but didn't list some of the people they owe money to or missed how much they owe.I'm going after them because they under estimated the amount.They filed chapter 7 and are currently living in Kalispell,Montana and selling real estate.

Calvert Group - Theft

1 comment

I am a home owner who hired Calvert Group to manage my property. They Owe me rent income from November 2013- present. I sent many emails to Lora Campbell and finally recieved a response stating the checks have been mailed. I never recieved the checks and asked them to verify the information. Agian, no reply. It has been 4 months before they finally sent me an email stating the following:

Dear Valued Client,

We regret to inform you that due to circumstances beyond our control Calvert Group Inc was forced to close its doors effective February 15, 2013. The following is an explanation of what occurred and not an excuse for its occurrence.

In early 2012 a client that consisted of two thirds of CGI's total gross revenues was foreclosed on and refused to pay monies owed to CGI in excess of $80,000. This problem was compounded by the fact that CGI was stuck with bills for this client as well. The owners of CGI took it upon themselves to try to find a solution to the financial setbacks this caused the company. And while a solution did come later that year, little did they know that by then the damage was irreversible.

Upon first hearing of nonpayment of this large account, the officers of CGI took all necessary steps to ensure the continued operation of the company. CGI cut operating expenses as dramatically as possible. CGI increased marketing to gain new clients in the hopes of filling the gap that was created by our new outstanding debt and our new lowered income. Throughout this time we continued to try to collect on the balance owed.

Due to the financial strains this was causing the company, CGI began slowly losing clientele. In December 2012, CGI was afforded an opportunity to take on a project in McCall, Idaho. Sadly, by February 2013 it was apparent that the owners of the McCall property also had no intention of paying their invoices. It was at this point that CGI had no choice but to stop management operations and begin the process of paying what debt CGI could.

In an effort to maintain professionalism and continuity during this time of turmoil, CGI has sold its client list and management agreements to Rentology LLC. While Rentology LLC did not purchase any of CGI's debt we believed the familiar face of the new owner Lora Campbell, Owner of Rentology LLC, as well as its new philosophy would be most suited to the former clients of CGI. You can contact Lora at xxx-xxx-xxxx. Any questions regarding monies owed to you should be directed towards our attorney Andrew Woolf at xxx-xxx-xxxx.

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to resolve this matter for all of our sakes as quickly as possible.

1. I call the number provided for their attorny and it was the wrong number.

2. They lied to me telling me the check was "mailed"

3. They stated it was "out of their control". WRONG...They took my money that did not belong to them. Per the contract I recieve my rent income, and pay them their 9%.

This is a SCAM

Monetary Loss: $3094.

Company wrote 0 public responses to the review from Feb 19, 2013.

Comments

Anonymous
Parker, Colorado, United States #625977

I would recommend anyone wanting to know the try story of this situation is to contact the attorney listed on the BBB website for Calvert Group Inc. I called and spoke with the attorney personally.

He explained the process of what is happening. Corporations go out of business all the time due to financial problems. If this unhappy client would do the research and speak to the attorney or even there own attorney - they would have the confirmation they need that this is NOT theft. The employee that this consumer poorly called out on a public website - was just that, an employee who had no cash control or authority of when payments were made.

She reported what was told to her. Something the Calverts attorney will verify to anyone who calls or emails.

It is a shame that angry people slander those not in control. I opted to have Lora continue to manage for me - and it has been great.

Calvert Group, Boise can't keep their lies straight

Parma,Idaho
7 comments
Not resolved

Update by user Feb 09, 2013

Just saw your reply to my compliant so I checked the BBB site and sure enough they took off my review & compliant that had been on there since June 2012. I have no idea why but you can be sure my compliant is 100% legit.

The BBB said they had no control over Calvert Group because they are not BBB accredited and said they could not help. Not sure why you would think somebody would make up lies about a company, maybe you work for Calvert Group?

I have no control over the BBB or their website. I don't care if you believe what happened to us but it is pretty obvious to me that you are trying to discredit me and make Calvert Group the good guys which anybody that has rented from them in the Boise area knows they are liars, cheats and a rotten company to work with.

Original review posted by user Jul 09, 2012

This property management, Calvert Group starts out as a nice company but turns ugly very quickly. They conduct inspections on your apartment every 3 months but either they tell you the wrong time of day for the inspection or they don't send you a notice at all, then they open up all the cabinets, even if they are yours, take pictures of your closets, drawers, underwear etc to post on their website for the owners.

They charge $200 per animal which is non-refundable and the owner doesn't see any of that money, per the owner. They charged us $87. to repair two nail holes, then changed their mind and said the owner made them charge us for touch up paint, repairing screens, blinds that were damaged before move in as per their own move in sheet. By the way the owner told us she hasn't spoken to the property management company in a while because they won't return her phone calls.

Try talking to them on the phone and they yell at you then hang up and when you call them back they deny they hung up and then hang up again. Filed with the BBB and they sent an email 3 months after move out to try and bully me into re-writing my negative review on them. They even charged us another $200 on the day we were moving out for a visiting animal that they said we could have come over, then another $100 late fee on the last $200 pet fee which they stated the system auto generated and they would drop the late fee but later said they wanted their late fee, so we had to pay it.

I have never met such disgusting people in my life. They can't keep their lies straight even denying what they put in writing.

Monetary Loss: $387.

Company wrote 0 private or public responses to the review from Jul 09, 2012.

Comments

Anonymous
Boise, Idaho, United States #618773

Sorry - accidentally hit the '***' button. Didn't mean your issue is, I just think all this with Calvert is BS. I, too, am out almost $7000 because of these scammers.

Anonymous
to Out $7000 #625994

Did you contact the attorney. The number is in fact a valid number.

There is a Utah number and then a local one that is his law partners machine.

I would recommend instead of bashing people, to handle it with the attorneys. I am sure it is not a fun time to have your business fail due to financial problems.

Anonymous
#606339

You filed with the BBB? Why isn't it displayed ?

Could that be because the BBB discovered you were lying? If a complaint was truthful - the BBB would have details on the site.

Anonymous
#544768

I have had the very same issues. I have kept every email due to this fact.

I had several months of rent that was paid but had to be traced. They gave me the its automated story too. I have several greivences with them, like they allowed water to the park to be shut off due to non-payment. Now I have moved due to the conditions and placed my mobile up for sale.

They have chased off buyers.

I am ready to retain, however Idaho just does not regulate these kind of companies. They are no better then the big city slum lords.

Anonymous
to christina costello Boise, Idaho, United States #606336

Perhaps if you had something worth buying it would help. You tried to sell me your so called home.

It was a disgusting piece of *** with holes in the roof and mold inside. That is not anyone scaring off from buying your home.

You wanted to charge me 3500.00 for something unlivable. ***

Anonymous
#517414

I am experiencing the same type of problems. Calvert Group Inc in Boise Idaho isn't giving me my rents and deposits.

It has been over 79 days since they breached their agreement with me. Their excuse for not giving me my money was they needed 30 days to close out their books, then 30 to 10 days, then 45 days. Now their lawyer wrote me a letter saying CGI is on a customary vacation for the summer and I need to wait til they get back. They do not return phone calls, especially the owner, the person I signed up with.

The person I trusted my property to.

Beware!! Boise Idaho doesn't have regulations for property managers.

Anonymous
to Alice Kelly #612376

Alice, I am having the same issues with them. Did you ever get your money back?

I am beginning to think they are a scam.

They owe me $3,744.

View more comments

You May Also Like